India-Australia 1st Test : India Beat Australia By 31 Runs – Take 1-0 Series Lead

Ravichandran Ashwin took the last wicket as India beat Australia by 31 runs at the Adelaide Oval on Monday to take a 1-0 lead in the four-match Test series. By virtue of this victory, India registered their first win on Australian soil in 10 years.




Mini-partnerships between Australia’s tailenders on the final day of the Test frustrated the Indian bowlers as they had to wait for a memorable victory. This was also the first time that India have won an opening Test of a series in Australia. Tim Paine (41), Pat Cummins (28), Mitchell Starc (28), Nathan Lyon (38) and Josh Hazlewood (13) played brilliantly to take Australia close to the target but it wasn’t enough for the hosts to record a win. Australia put up a brilliant rearguard, with their final six wickets making India earn every bit of their success. After this win, Virat Kohli became the first Indian captain to win Test matches in Australia, England and South Africa.

Rahul Dravid and MS Dhoni captained India to Test victories in England and South Africa but nerver in Australia. India also became the second Asian side to win the first Test of a series in Australia after Pakistan won the MCG Test in 1978/79 (series 1-1). India’s Cheteshwar Pujara was adjudged man of the match. Ashwin, who took six wickets in total in the two innings, registered his best match figures in Australia.